New South Wales Rugby League PDF

The New South Wales rugby league team has represented the Australian state of New South Wales in rugby league football since the sport’s beginnings there in 1907. Prior to 1980 when the « state-of-origin » selection criteria were introduced, the New South Wales team, in addition to playing annually against Queensland, played matches against foreign touring sides and occasionally toured overseas themselves. They have played all their home matches at Stadium Australia, New South Wales’ largest stadium, new South Wales Rugby League PDF it was built in 1999.

The inaugural ‘All Blues’ squad of 1907. The first New South Wales team to go to Queensland in 1910. Two further matches were played against New Zealand before their tour took them to the Northern Hemisphere, with Jim Devereaux also featuring for the Blues. The visiting All Golds won all three games. In 1910 New South Wales defeated the touring England team in two of their three games. After that they became the first Blues side to travel to Queensland for the annual interstate series. In 1912 the New South Wales team first toured New Zealand.

They also visited New Zealand in 1913. During the 1913 New Zealand rugby league tour of Australia New South Wales played four matches against the Kiwis, winning three of them. The New South Wales team lost its first game against Queensland in 1922. This year the Blues also toured New Zealand. During the 1951 French rugby league tour of Australia and New Zealand New South Wales played one match against the successful France national rugby league team, a 14-all draw. In a 1954 tour match between Great Britain and New South Wales the referee left the field in disgust at the players’ persistent fighting after 56 minutes so the match was abandoned.

New South Wales’ dominance over Queensland came to an end with the introduction of ‘state of origin’ selection rules in the early 1980s. Ricky Stuart, who had previously coached New South Wales in 2005, was announced as the first full-time Blues coach in November 2010. Following the 2012 series, the Blues’ seventh consecutive loss, Stuart resigned the role. Stuart took a role as the Parramatta Eels head coach in 2013, citing family reasons for his move. The primary colour of New South Wales Blues is sky blue, which represents the state colour of New South Wales. The secondary colour is navy blue, with additional contrasting colour of white.

The official New South Wales rugby league team supporter group is known as « Blatchy’s Blues ». For the list of New South Wales Blues cap numbers, see List of New South Wales rugby league team players. For the list of New South Wales Blues squads by year, see List of New South Wales rugby league team squads. Penrith Panthers square flag icon with 2017 colours. Ahead of the 2017 State of Origin series, NSW named the inaugural inductees to the NSWRL Hall of Fame, joining automatic inductees Dally Messenger and the seven Immortals who represented NSW.

As part of the 25-year celebrations in 2005, New South Wales named 25 legends for each year before that. New South Wales have had a total of thirteen different coaches at State of Origin level, eight of which have previously played for the Blues. The list also includes the known coaches from the pre-Origin era and only counts games against Queensland. NSWRL Hall of Fame inductee and Immortal Brad Fittler is the coach for the 2018 blues team and he has chosen 11 players to debut in game 1 of the 2018 series.

As of 2018 the current New South Wales State of Origin side’s selection panel consists of Danny Buderus, Andrew Johns and Greg Alexander. 100 years of rugby league: From the great divide to the Super era ». Archived from the original on 17 November 2016. Archived from the original on 4 February 2016. Archived from the original on 19 February 2016. Blatchys Blues to take NSW to the World ». Blatchy’s Blues exclusive bar at Origin II ».